The Divine Assignment with Dr. Dwayne
Words of Love with DrDwayne
How My 10-Day Meditation Retreat Affected My Sobriety
0:00
-29:53

How My 10-Day Meditation Retreat Affected My Sobriety

When you experience Vipassana, it affects various aspects of your identity. During my recent retreat, I discovered (to my surprise) that my sobriety story was one of them.

There was a surface-level impact. But there was also another effect that required effort to receive the beautiful gift that awaits anyone who takes the journey.

In this episode of the Words of Love podcast, you’ll learn what it was like to be in silence for 10 days as a sober person. I’ll talk about the objective of Vipassana, the challenges you must confront to receive its gift, and how it parallels another sacred journey that helps you reach that space of holistic awakening.

2:19 - The surface-level impact of the retreat on my sobriety and the goal of Vipassana

7:14 - The learning curve you have to navigate to sit in silence for any length of time

9:44 - How a bottle of hand sanitizer called out to the addict in me

16:00 - The habitual thinking pattern that is still a part of me and how it typically shows up

19:43 - The Ayahuasca experience and how Vipassana resembles it psychologically, emotionally, and spiritually

27:01 - Help getting started on your own meditation journey

Mentioned in How My 10-Day Meditation Retreat Affected My Sobriety

Vipassana Meditation

“Thank You for Keeping Me Sober - Ed R Discusses Serenity, Service and Self-Acceptance”

Self-Care Resources Library

The Art of No Hard Conversations Substack with Dr. Dwayne

0 Comments